Post-Covid 19 – the Nordics are opening up again

After a few months of heavy restrictions and closed borders, we are excited to inform you that more and more countries are easing their restrictions and opening their borders for travellers. We hope to welcome you again very soon!

An overview over the current situation with official links to more information (updated 25-06-2020):

**Please note that information may change rapidly as governments make new decisions every day. Please refer to the official websites for updates**

European Union

The EU is supporting the opening of internal borders within the EU/EEA/Schengen area, however, how and when is a decision for the national authorities of each country. Here you can find the official and updated information from the EU including a comprehensive overview: Travel and tourism in the EU


The Norwegian authorities currently advise against travelling until 20th August, however, already from 15th July there will be exceptions! Travellers from European countries with acceptable (low) rates of Covid-19 infections will be allowed to travel to Norway. Find official and updated information from the Norwegian authorities on the website of the Norwegian government.


The Swedish borders are open and there are currently no mandatory quarantine rules for travellers from other EU countries. Please see updated information here: Emergency Information from Swedish Authorities


Denmark is also following a program of carefully re-opening the country to foreign travellers. Currently, citizens from Norway, Germany and Iceland are exempt from quarantine upon entry provided they can present a reservation for a stay of six days or more at a hotel, camping or similar. See information from the Danish authorities: Travel information by Visit Denmark

Faroe Islands

Travellers from countries with low infection rates are welcome to the Faroe Islands from 27th June, provided that they are tested negative on a Covid-19 test performed on arrival. See official information here.


Finland is planning to open their borders for more EU/Schengen countries from 13th July, depending on the status of Covid-19 infections in the respective country of origin. Currently, we expect borders to be opened for the following countries: Germany, Italy, Austria, Greece, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary, Liechtenstein, Croatia, Cyprus and Ireland. Please note that this information may change if infection rates increase – find updated and more detailed information on VisitFinland


Iceland has opened their borders for travellers within the EU/Schengen area since 15th June. Travellers are given the choice of a Covid-19 test performed at the airport, or two weeks of quarantine. Test results are available within 24 hours. Additionally, travellers are encouraged to install an app that will make it possible to trace infections. See more information on

Note on countries of origin

Please check the travel restrictions and recommendations of your country’s local authorities. Depending on your country of origin, there may be quarantine rules upon returning from some destinations.

Haman is here for you

Haman Scandinavia follows the recommendations and restrictions of the respective national health authorities and your safety is important to us. We will help you to adjust your travel program to hygiene and social distancing requirements and, if necessary, replace or reschedule any services that are currently closed or unavailable.

If you have any questions or requests, please contact us: